Ooh Child, Things Are Gonna Get Easier…

Ooh-oo child. Things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child. Things’ll get brighter
Ooh-oo child. Things are gonna get easier
Ooh-oo child. Things’ll get brighter

“Ooh Child” lyrics – The Five Stairsteps

We’ll it’s that time of month again, and while I won’t repeat what I’ve already said here, here, and here, I will say that I’m expecting a really rough night ahead. Hell, who am I kidding? I probably won’t sleep a wink…

Anyway, I was watching the The Devil in the Dark episode of Defiance last night – one of the shows I never got around to on Monday – and it was all about childhood-trauma-induced PTSD, a question comparing flashbacks to visions, years spent dwelling on thoughts of revenge, and a series of very bloody murders.

And in spite of my growing anxieties, I was very much enjoying the show. That is until the end came, leaving one tortured child in lockup, another dreaming the dreams that no one wants to have, and this wonderful Beth Orton cover of a song that meant so much to me in my own tortured youth playing in the background…

I know those words haven’t quite panned out for me over the years, but I’m really hoping that, this time, they’ll lift my spirits up the way it does for the woman who posted it…

Some day, yeah. We’ll get it together and we’ll get it all done
Some day. When your head is much lighter
Some day, yeah. We’ll walk in the rays of a beautiful sun
Some day. When the world is much brighter

“Ooh Child” lyrics – The Five Stairsteps

I want ice water.

More from the Just Vibes volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 thoughts on “Ooh Child, Things Are Gonna Get Easier…

  1. Pingback: Curses, Foiled Again! | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!