WTF Just Happened?

“What was silent in the father speaks in the son, and often I’ve found in the son the unveiled secret of the father.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

“There is no refuge from memory and remorse in this world. The spirits of our foolish deeds haunt us, with or without repentance.” – Gilbert Parker

Criminal Minds “Memoriam” Bookend Quotes

Those of you who read my I’ve Got Worries, Worries On My Mind! post, and it’s follow-up Release The Kraken!, will understand me when I say that I did NOT rest well that night. Hell, I hardly slept a wink. Finally, Wednesday morning came, and as if to prove that things could actually get more weird, they did.

First, my cable services weren’t cut off as my cable company promised they would be. Not being one to look a gift horse in the mouth, and since I’d received no reassuring words from my son at all, I decided to call my leasing office to find out if the rent had indeed been paid. They, in turn, suggested I contact my bank, since they wouldn’t get their report for several days. So that’s what I did. And that’s when I discovered that not only had my rent withdrawal gone through without a hitch, but that my entire SSD check had already been deposited!

Now suffice it to say that I was a bit surprised. So, after a quick call to my cable company to pay that past due balance, I decided a text message exchange with me son was in order. Here’s the entire contents of that exchange:

My whole check is there. That’s a HUGE relief! Has the direct deposit resumed?

No I got it yesterday and deposited it

You know son, a text last night would’ve sure saved me a lot of stress…

That was in the early afternoon on Wednesday, and I’ve had nothing but the sound of crickets in the back of my mind since to clarify the matter further…

At any rate, I’ve been muddling through in a kind of fog since then, paying my bills as best I could and begging a ride to help me get supplies for the month ahead. And, all along, trying to come up with some way not to look like a damned fool when I attempt to explain all this to you guys…

But hey, things haven’t been all bad. I was able to watch all my favorite shows on TV, including the awesome pilot episode of that new Hannibal show:

In the end, I guess, I’m still left feeling like the main character in Robert A. Heinlein’s Job: A Comedy of Justice, with, of course, little of the comedy and none of the justice. And, in addition to all those echoing crickets, I have this crazy-assed song looping around inside my head as well:

Via The Assumption Song (Comedy Content) | Super Science Space Tech Laugh, GO!

Light thinks it travels faster than anything, but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always gotten there first, and is waiting for it.” – Terry Pratchett

“Monsters are real, and ghosts are real, too. They live inside us. And sometimes, they win.” – Stephen King

Criminal Minds “Conflicted” Bookend Quotes

I want ice water.

More from My Life volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

12 thoughts on “WTF Just Happened?

    • I thought that one was particularly applicable to my depression PT. As for my having been “spared,” I’m relieved as well, but I do hate being left looking like some crazy drama queen! 😡

      BTW, when was the last time your Social Security check arrived early – when the scheduled day was in the middle of the week?!?! 😕

      Like

  1. Pingback: Let’s Get Ready To Rumble – Rappapaloosa 4! | I Want Ice Water

  2. Pingback: Ooh Child, Things Are Gonna Get Easier… | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!

