There, But For The Grace Of … What?

I have written frequently and openly in this blog about my problems with depression and addiction. I have described my having become an “urban hermit” in an effort to isolate myself from the madness of “the global asylum.” I have talked extensively about the philosophical flaws within our culture that I think has helped to bring on an epidemic of mental illness, as demonstrated by our accelerating usage of both legal and illegal substances for treating the anxiety and depression that results from these flaws. And, once again, I am sickened to have my beliefs confirmed by recent news.

The first came from MyDepressionConnection.com in their article: Study: Americans’ antidepressant use has almost doubled:

Data from a new report shows that between 1996 and 2005, antidepressant use among residents of the United States nearly doubled. Overall, 10.12 percent of Americans over age six were using antidepressants in 2005, compared to 5.8 percent in 1996. But researchers found about the same number of people–about 26 percent–were being treated for depression, a figure that suggests antidepressants are being more frequently prescribed for conditions other than depression, such as mood disorders and anxiety. During the same time period, investigators say there was a concurrent rise in the use of other psychiatric medications such as anti-psychotic drugs.

The actual study can be found at Antidepressant Use in U.S. Has Almost Doubled. I’d be willing to bet that the recent economic downturn has resulted in even greater usage of “medication” as people try even harder to ignore the truth. I, for one, can’t wait for the statistics to include the last 4 years!

The second came when four people were killed after gunman George Sodini, 48, opened fire at a Bridgeville, PA LA Fitness workout center before killing himself. This tragedy has been all over television news as well as the web. You can get all of the details at links such as MSNBC’s Pa. gym shooter showed disturbing signs, and Raincoaster’s blog post George Sodini’s blog: the plan which actually includes a reposting of his blog. These sites, and many others, have more than adequately covered the tragedy and the events leading up to it. I feel no need to duplicate that effort here.

For myself, I just want to express my disappointment, outrage and fear by restating, once again, how the strangest and most dangerous things grow only in isolation. I can’t help but wonder at how, with only minor changes in my history, it could have been me instead of George Sodini at that gym. But a culture that thrives on “freak show” politics has only itself to blame when the occasional “innocent bystander” is attacked by one of the freaks. And, worst of all, is the sad truth is that there are many amongst us who just love it.

As usual, all of this reminds me of a song.

Aerosmith
Seasons Of Wither

Blues hearted lady sleepy was she. Love for the devil brought her to me
Sea’s of a thousand drawn to her sin. Seasons of wither holdin’ me in

Ooh woe is me I feel so badly for you
Ooh woe is me I feel so sadly for you
In time bound to lose your mind
Live on borrowed time
Take the wind right out of your sail

Fireflies dance in the heat of Hound dogs that bay at the moon
My ship leaves in the midnight. Can’t say I’ll be back too soon

They awaken far far away. Heat of my candle show me the way
Sea’s of a thousand drawn to her sin. Seasons of wither holdin’ me in

Ooh woe is me I feel so badly for you
Ooh woe is me I feel so sadly for you
In time bound to lose your mind
Live on borrowed time
Take the wind right out of your sail

Archives: Aerosmith

I want ice water.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

3 thoughts on “There, But For The Grace Of … What?

  1. I don’t think with any changes you could be a ‘freak’ like George Sodini, not in the least bit. Although you suffer from depression and isolation you still show compassion, sympathy, empathy and other feelings know to man that are ‘normal’ feelings. Sodini didn’t show any of that, atleast not according to his ‘journal’.

    I believe antipsychotic drugs are on the rise because finally ppl are being diagnosed correctly. I had tried many antidepressants for them only to make matters worst, especially with anxiety. I was misdiagnosed as majorly depressed when in reality, I wasn’t depressed! I am Bipolar and being dianosed while my condition isn’t totally confronted, I have been started on the correct meds, instead of ones that caused worst symptoms in my BP. From what I have seen, personal experience, doctors seem quick to jump the gun with diagnosing a person as depressed and then feeding them medication that just makes the condition worst, antidepression meds.
    More research needs to go into what else can be done for those that suffer horribly in their lives because of mental illness, more research also needs to go into addiction and alcoholism but I guess we shall see.

    Like

    • You’re right. I’ve never had any real desire to hurt anyone. But pray that I never get the power to make everyone into mind readers, because I’d use it in a heartbeat to turn this sucker upside down! 😈

      But seriously, there’s a reason why mental illness and addiction tends to disproportionately affect those of higher intelligence. We are the ones who recognize on some level that there are deeper problems at work than the “explanations” (excuses) we give each other. There is no “blissful ignorance” for us. And without a real solution to pursue, the only escape available is through self-medication. The statistical failure of programs like 12 Steps is not due to the “power” of some inanimate chemical. And no prescription will ever “fix” the self-inflicted defects from which we suffer.

      I have no idea how any of this relates to George Sodini, but then it isn’t really about him, is it? 😉

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Transformation of Walter White | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!