Slow Justice is No Justice!

I just finished watching a really good, if not downright excellent, movie called Faster, starring Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Billy Bob Thornton, Carla Gugino, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Maggie Grace, and lots of other very familiar faces.

Faster

For a change, the “storyline” description on the associated IMDb page is actually quite good:

A lone man, recently released from prison, seeks out the people from his past who he believes betrayed him. While he forces each to atone for their sins, he must also face what meting out vengeance will do to his immortal soul. Meanwhile, he’s not the only one looking to settle old scores. Hired by the man responsible for the events which lead him to prison, an eccentric contract killer follows his every move. Scenes of them crossing paths, sometimes violently, are interspersed with the assassin’s self-realizations of how to deal with struggles within his own life. As if old enemies & hired guns aren’t enough, a young female detective begrudgingly works alongside a veteran investigator looking to simply survive his last two weeks on the force before retirement, as they seek out the brazen ex-con who has been blazing a path of gasoline-powered destruction in his vintage Chevelle.

~ IMDb

With movie taglines like If you’re on his list, you’re already dead, Slow Justice is No Justice, and Justice is swift. Vengeance is faster, Faster is a very intense, action-packed, thrill ride. Of that, there is no doubt. But the thing that really got to me was the preacher sermonizing on the radio, which left me suspecting, rightly (and dreading, for some strange reason), that he’d somehow end up being on our avenging angel’s hit list.

Check out these trailers:

I’m not sure why, because I’m certainly not a religious man, but listening to that preacher and suspecting that I’d soon be witnessing his murder had me hearing Jeff Buckley singing “Hallelujah” in my head as I watched. The effect of the intense drama playing out on my TV, in combination with that song playing in my head, was so profound that I actually planned to finish this post with a video of that song.

That is, until this song started playing at the end of the movie:

The Heavy – “Short Change Hero”

Wow! If you haven’t seen Faster yet, you really should. And guess what? The USA Network will be airing it again later today (Sunday, Sept. 15th) at 2PM EDT! 😀

I want ice water.

See more of my TV & Movie Classics

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 thoughts on “Slow Justice is No Justice!

    • It’s hard for me not to like Dwayne Johnson, as he reminds me so much of my middle son. Besides, it turns out “The Rock” is a pretty good actor too! 😀

      You know, I knew that song sounded familiar when I heard it in the movie. But it wasn’t until I began searching for a good video that I realized it was as popular as that Radioactive song! 🙄

      Like

  1. Pingback: On Chasing The Squirrels Of Language… | I Want Ice Water!

Express yourself!

