A Three Dog Night Sing-A-Long!

M-R’s comment on my previous post reminded me that I’ve done a very poor job of representing one of my favorite bands on this blog – Three Dog Night. The thing is, how does one go about paying tribute to a band that had 21 consecutive top 40 hits? Well, for me at least, the solution is easy…

I’ll simply post the ones that I sang along to the most! 🙂

~ Joy To The World ~

~ Never Been To Spain ~

~ Old Fashioned Love Song ~

~ Liar ~

~ One ~

It occurs to me that when, exactly, it was that I spent so much time singing along to those songs – not to mention the order in which I’ve subconsciously chosen to present them – reveals more than I’d have thought about my very long history with depression… O_o

Anyway, here’s an interesting tidbit from the Wikipedia link for the band:

The official commentary included in the CD set Celebrate: The Three Dog Night Story, 1964–1975 states that vocalist Danny Hutton’s then-girlfriend June Fairchild suggested the name after reading a magazine article about indigenous Australians, in which it was explained that on cold nights they would customarily sleep in a hole in the ground whilst embracing a dingo, a native species of wild dog. On colder nights they would sleep with two dogs and if the night were freezing, it was a “three dog night”.

I invite each and every one of you to include your own Three Dog Night favorites in the comments! 🙂

I want ice water.

More from the Just Vibes volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

16 thoughts on “A Three Dog Night Sing-A-Long!

  1. Eli’s comin’, hide your heart, girl…Mama told me not to come…(2 great songwriters, too, Laura Nyro and Randy Newman)…But the Reallyreally BestEver: Shambala… Great, wonderful,rockin’ band!!!

    Like

  2. I have a CD of that album …Stringer dubbed off my absolute favourites from it to another – and they’re all up there. You haven’t mentioned “Let me Serenade You” or “Brickyard Blues” or … I think I’ll shut up, now.:-D

    Like

Express yourself!

