Runaway Train

I’m not sure if anyone has noticed, or even cares, that I haven’t done much in the way of political ranting for a while. For the tiny few who might actually be curious about this lack, the answer is that I’ve become pretty apathetic about the whole “change the world” thing. For the time being at least, I’ve decided to just sit back and observe – the bewildered near-panic of the passengers (we the people), and the mindless bickering of the engineers (our so-called leaders) – from my seat on this “runaway train” called human civilization.

And I can’t think of a better song for us to listen to on our journey than this one:

In the shuffling madness of the locomotive breath
Runs the all-time loser headlong to his death
He feels the piston scraping steam breaking on his brow
Old Charlie stole the handle and the train it won’t stop going
No way to slow down

He sees his children jumping off at the stations one by one
His woman and his best friend in bed and having fun
He’s crawling down the corridor on his hands and knees
Old Charlie stole the handle and the train it won’t stop going
No way to slow down

He hears the silence howling – catches angels as they fall
And the all-time winner has got him by the balls
He picks up Gideon’s Bible open at page one
God He stole the handle and the train it won’t stop going
No way to slow down

No way to slow down

I want ice water.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

14 thoughts on “Runaway Train

    • Thanks! And I guess I should thank the people who brought the “Space Duet” to my attention also. It was while searching through Tull videos that I realized how well this song expressed my current state of mind! 😀

      Like

  1. Nice. I love Tull, but I like Ozzy’s take on it too.

    All aboard
    Crazy, but that’s how it goes
    Millions of people living as foes
    Maybe it’s not too late
    To learn how to love, and forget how to hate
    Mental wounds not healing
    Life’s a bitter shame
    I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train
    I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train
    Let’s go
    I’ve listened to preachers, I’ve listened to fools
    I’ve watched all the dropouts who make their own rules
    One person conditioned to rule and control
    The media sells it and you live the role
    Mental wounds still screaming
    Driving me insane
    I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train
    I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train
    I know that things are going wrong for me
    You’ve gotta listen to my words, yeah
    Heirs of a cold war, that’s what we’ve become
    Inheriting troubles, I’m mentally numb
    Crazy, I just cannot bear
    I’m living with something that just isn’t fair
    Mental wounds not healing
    Who and what’s to blame
    I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train
    I’m goin’ off the rails on a crazy train

    Like

  2. same here, love Jethro but I’m more inclined to agree with Ozzy here as writerdood said. But relax mate and just sit back and be astonished, it does work sometimes to get around the insania around us…

    Like

    • “Crazy Train” would have done very well, but as I said to sara, the “Space Duet” post put me in a Tull frame of mind! I am trying very hard to keep my cool, but being trapped on a runaway train isn’t exactly conducive to relaxation:

      Like

      • I’m kind of a control freak, in that I want to feel in control of whatever happens to me or my life. So I get really tense when someone else is driving the train …
        I’m probably going to dream about this picture. 😦

        Like

        • That image is from another of those forwarded emails called “When It’s Okay To Use The ‘F’ Word” that I never got around to posting. It did seem perfect for this post though! 😀

          Like

  3. Pingback: If You Can’t Beat Em, Mock Em! | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!