Space Duet

I found this wonderful video (in Universe Today’s Jethro Tull in Space post) featuring Astronaut Cady Coleman (on board the International Space Station) doing a flute duet with Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson (on Earth) in honor of Yuri Gagarin’s famous “first human in space” flight on April 12, 1961.

Amazingly enough, I heard on last night’s news that some people were actually nit-picking the fact that it had to be edited to overcome transmission delays. Well those people can go screw themselves as far as I’m concerned, because I think this “space duet” is absolutely the coolest thing!

And just for the hell of it, not to mention the fact that it’s been too damned long since I’ve heard it, here’s the original version of Jethro Tull’s Bourée from their Stand Up album:

I want ice water.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Space Duet

  1. Excellent and wonderfull! I finaly got to see Ian perform for the first time last year. This is just great. I had to listen to both versions. Now I am sitting here waiting for the song to end before submiting my comment. So as not to interupt the song.

    Like

    • I got to see Jethro Tull awhile back when they performed at one of the local medium-sized venues. Even though it was years after their biggest hits had come out, Ian’s on-stage energy was amazing – and the crowd absolutely loved it! 😀

      Like

  2. Gotta love the contrast between the ‘big hair’ of Cady and the almost complete baldness of Ian !! 🙂
    And of course the music was great !!
    Ed

    Like

    • It’s kinda like she’s going for her own version of the “Aqualung” look! I was thinking about posting Tull’ Wind Up tomorrow, as my version of a “Sunday Sermon.” 😀

      Like

Express yourself!