On This April 19th

Today is April 19th, 2013. Today is also the end of a very dark and disturbing week, and dark, disturbing weeks can inspire a person like me to have some very dark and disturbing thoughts. This post is the result of quite a few hours spent fleshing out some of those thoughts. Please bear with me. I’ll try not to embarrass myself too badly.

According to HistoryOrb.com, some very interesting things have happened on this day in history. For the purposes of this post however, the two things I’m interested in are listed on the second of the two pages dedicated to this day: The tragic end of the siege at the Branch Davidian compound on the outskirts of Waco, Texas, and the bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Patriots’ Day and, by tradition, the Boston Marathon, fell on Monday, April the 15th this year – a traditional connection that many have linked to the Boston Marathon bombings. With the help of timeanddate.com, I learned that the Waco siege also ended on Patriots’ Day – Monday, April 19, 1993. I then learned that the Oklahoma City bombing, inspired at least in part by the Waco siege tragedy, occurred two days after Patriots’ Day – on Wednesday, April 19, 1995 – using a truck filled with fertilizer based explosives.

And guess what happened this week? The explosion at that West Fertilizer Company plantlocated roughly 19 miles north of Waco, Texas – took place on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 – two days after Patriots’ Day and the bombings in Boston, on the same day of the week the Oklahoma City bombing occurred on, and on the same date that Patriots’ Day fell on in that year!

“Nah, that’s crazy!” I know that’s what you’re thinking. But if you think having such thoughts makes me crazy, then perhaps you need a reminder of what the genuine article actually looks like:

Which, of course, is precisely why…

I want ice water.

See more of my Random Ravings

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

13 thoughts on “On This April 19th

  1. No, not crazy, interesting, I hadn’t thought of the dates like that. Thanks for sharing. “Well, Norman Mailer, he had an interesting theory that he used to explain the strange coincidences in the aftermath of the JFK assasination. In the wake of huge events, after them and before them, physical details they spasm for a moment; they sort of unlock and when they come back into focus they suddenly coincide in a weird way. Street names and birthdates and middle names, all kind of superfluous things appear related to eachother. It’s a ripple effect. So, what does it mean? Well… it means something’s going to happen. Something big. But then, something’s always about to happen.”

    Like

  2. It looks like someone’s cleansed their colon, and judging from the stench, I would guess that it was the entire Republican Party. Nice video. And now I must go and convert to Christianity so that I can kill someone and make God happy.

    Like

    • The Lord’s work is truly never done my friend. Remember, there are billions of infidels left to kill! 🙄

      But back to reality… The source of the video, Licentiathe8th, isn’t known (at least by me) for this type of stuff. I subscribed to the channel because it’s a good place to find Rachel Maddow clips. And I’ll be damned if I could figure out who the “Bobby Brooks” is that the song is attributed to!

      Like

      • I think God is pleased with Rachel Maddow, but I only suggest this because he hasn’t killed her yet. Still, it could happen at any time! God kills everyone, it’s just a matter of when. I usually find her clips on the TV. Oddly, my wife doesn’t like her. I’m not sure why. I do enjoy her perspective thought. Someone’s got to call bullshit on the bullshit, and she does a damn good job.

        Like

        • Rachel Maddow speaks with the kind of clarity I learned to love while reading Ayn Rand, though I’d bet that neither would be pleased with the comparison. I secretly suspect that the difficulty people have with spinning their words to mean something else is why some people don’t like them. End the end, I guess it doesn’t matter. Because God loves all his children… until he doesn’t! 🙄

          Like

  3. Pingback: The Skies Above… | I Want Ice Water

  4. I found this vedio to be absolutely fastinating….I may have to watch it again. and by the way……….love Rachel too!!!! and she is fastinating as well…….LOL

    Like

    • It is fascinating isn’t it? Not to mention more than a little scary! 😕

      Rachel Maddow is one of the few news / commentary shows I can watch without wanting to throw something at my TV!!! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!