Cosmos – Heaven and Hell

Anyone who loved Carls Sagan’s Cosmos: A Personal Voyage series would recognize that shows theme song when they heard it. Most would probably be able to name Vangelis as the artist that did it as well. But I wonder how many would know that it was from his Heaven and Hell album, specifically Part 1, Movement 3?

Well I do, and I knew it when I first heard it in the show. That’s because the album had been a part of my music collection for a couple of years at the time. What’s more is that there’s another great song right after it on the album, Vangelis’ first collaborative effort with Jon Anderson (of Yes fame), called So Long Ago, So Clear.

Well my friends, I’ve found a really nice video for each of these great songs:

I want ice water.

More from the Just Vibes and Visual Treats volumes

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Cosmos – Heaven and Hell

  1. Nice!

    I have a CD of a choral symphony composed and conducted by Vangelis entitled, “Mythodea: Music for the NASA Mission: 2001 Mars Odyssey”. It is one of my favorite albums of any composer’s work–I don’t know how many times I’ve listened to it. I even wrote a music-impression poem using it.

    Like

    • I’m a huge fan of the older Vangelis stuff, but I lost track of him along the way and I simply get overwhelmed when I try to pick from the unfamiliar stuff. Hell Scott, I spent a big part of today just checking out videos I found during my search for this post that I might post later! 😀

      Hey, look what I found when I searched for the title you quoted: Vangelis: Mythodea – Music for the NASA Mission, 2001 Mars Odyssey. At 78 minutes long though, I added it to my YouTube “Vangelis” playlist and bookmarked it watch later! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!