Nature By Numbers

I’ve been meaning to reblog Benoît B. Mandelbrot from over at JAMMER5’S POLYRANT for quite some time because of the truly awesome video he included to dramatize the impact of Dr. Mandelbrot’s “fractal” geometry. JAMMER5’S post was done to honor Dr. Mandelbrot’s great achievements on the announcement of his death. I highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it.

Instead of that reblog though, I’ve decided to post another incredible video dramatizing the relationship between nature and mathematics that I found over on Vimeo. The quality is excellent,

So Full Screen With Audio Cranked!

“A SHORT MOVIE INSPIRED ON NUMBERS, GEOMETRY AND NATURE. Go to www.etereaestudios.com if you are looking for more information: the theory behind the movie (Fibonacci, Golden Ratio, Delaunay, Voronoi…), stills and screenshots showing the work in progress. There are lots of training materials and 3D workshops, too ;-).”

I want ice water.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

15 thoughts on “Nature By Numbers

  1. Good find! That was some excellent 3D imaging. I would love to see anything involving music and math. The more I study both, the more I realize how similar they are.

    Like

    • Thanks! I learned a little about music and math back when I was studying electronics. It seems that octaves are changed be doubling (to go up one) or halving (to go down one) the frequency of the note. Since chips had already been developed to do this for on-board signal needs, the development of top octave generators in combination with them where perfect for electronic instruments. 😀

      Like

    • Thanks so much. I’ve got nothing but admiration for those who can put together such awesome visuals. In fact, I’d love to reblog your Time-lapse Photography of the Milky Way post if that would be alright with you. To me, there’s nothing like a nice look at the night sky to help restore a bit of the perspective lost in dealing with the details of daily life. I thought that a few words to that effect from me, as the opener for the reblog, might be an appropriate end-of-year message.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Fallingwater | I Want Ice Water

    • That’s one of my very favorite videos. I love to watch it in full screen mode with the audio cranked up. Thank you for bringing it back to my attention! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!