Veterans Day 101…

I know I’m getting older, and I know that my “mental issues” can confuse my sense of time, but I swear that we’ve celebrated Veterans Day at least once already this year – just as I did last year and the year before. The thing is however, if it’s just my mind going bad, then why does it just affect my memories of Veterans Day? I mean, it’s not like I remember a previous Thanksgiving or Christmas holiday this year…

So I decided to do a “more than one veterans day?” search and found only references to the one that happens today. Maybe I phrased the question wrong. Or perhaps there are celebrations specific to my location that Google didn’t pick up on. Hell, I don’t know, maybe I’m just freaking crazy. At any rate, that search did produce a link to a History Channel page that was chock full of great stuff, including this very cool video:

Video via Veterans Day – Holidays on HISTORY.com and HISTORY on YouTube

And I also found this image on Daily Overview, along with the text quoted below it:

Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery

November 11th is both Armistice Day (commemorating the armistice signed to end the hostilities on the Western Front of World War One) as well as Veterans Day in the United States (honoring those who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces). Appropriately, today’s Overview shows Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery near Romagne-sous-Montfaucon, France. The cemetery contains 14,246 soldiers who died during WWI – the largest number of American military dead in Europe. More than 9 million combatants and 7 million civilians died during the conflict that ravished Europe from 1914 to today’s date in 1918.

Okay, okay, I know you’re all probably still rolling your eyes over my revelations at the top. But just keep in mind that I had to go through 5 PC freeze-up and reboot cycles to bring this to you – which was especially weird after the darned thing sat here overnight, running without a problem! O_o

Happy Veterans Day Everyone!

Veterans Day 2014

I want ice water.

More from the Random Ravings volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Express yourself!