Aurora Borealis in Real Time…

Imagine for a moment that you knew nothing of the science explaining the northern lights. What would you think when you saw this? This footage was caught in real time (no time-lapse)…

Video via Jon Kerr on YouTube

Reblogged from Watch the Aurora Shimmer and Dance in Real Time on Universe Today

I know that I’ve mocked the silliness of human superstition all my life. But seriously, seeing that without understanding what it was would just blow my mind – even without the cool music. Hell, seeing that with nothing but the sounds of cold arctic nature all around me would probably freak me out even more! O_o

Take me to church
I’ll worship like a dog at the shrine of your lies
I’ll tell you my sins and you can sharpen your knife
Offer me that deathless death
Good God, let me give you my life

Hozier: “Take Me To Church”

I want ice water.

More from the Visual Treats volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “Aurora Borealis in Real Time…

  1. What a fantastic display! I have great admiration for those who seek out explanations for nature around us, it’s what science is all about. It’s only when people wish to not only stick to outdated and unscientific explanations despite evidence to the contrary, but also try to force others to do the same that I have a problem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Alex. I, of course, couldn’t agree more with what you said. This post was just my way of reminding those like you and me that superstitious people are part of nature too, and represent possibly the most important of the mysteries we need to solve…

      Like

      • I just sat in my room, took off the lights, put it to full screen and just…inhaled. It’s been that kind of week and your blog is always a place I can find so much of everything I need. Thank you for that! (Even the sad stuff…. makes me realize I’m not alone… so I hope you find joy in all that you do — because even though I don’t always comment, I read your blog more often than you realize and I need your funny-isms, your silly-isms… they really are…brilliant). Abrazos.

        Liked by 1 person

Express yourself!

