My Opponent Is A Hatchet-Faced Nutmeg Dealer!

If you’re anything like me, then you’re probably looking forward to the mid-term elections coming to an end tomorrow just as much as I am. I’m telling you, after months of negative or even downright crazy political ads, I’m thinking that the whole country might be in need of a good long shower – regardless of how the vote goes.

With that in mind, it occurs to me that a little bit of stress relief – by way of videos that I think capture the “spirit” of today’s politics so well – might just be in order! 😉

Videos via the showwhat channel on YouTube

BTW, in case you’re under the mistaken impression that this year’s negative political ads have really ‘taken dirty to a whole new level,’ as CNN’s Anderson Cooper fretted, or that “a ‘return to civility…a relic of a bygone era,’ as President Barack Obama famously lamented – let me tell you my friends, you couldn’t be more wrong! O_o

Video via the ReasonTV channel on YouTube

Did you catch the inspiration for this post’s title at the end? 😀

I want ice water.

More from the WusAMatta U volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “My Opponent Is A Hatchet-Faced Nutmeg Dealer!

  1. I think all I’m going to feel tomorrow is relief. In fact, I’m feeling it already. And the local news team was celebrating on the air because they’d just run their last political ad. I’ve never seen that before.

    Like

    • I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before either PT. I know the cable news channels behaved as if the whole thing was going to be a be ratings boom for them. I am glad that it’s over though…

      Like

  2. I caught it–that’s amazing! One advantage they did have though–no television! Even Richard Dreyfuss pointed out, in a candid interview, the damage television has caused to the electoral process. Before the election of 1960, candidates were not judged by their appearance on television. The election of 1960 was the first televised election–Richard Nixon lost to John F. Kennedy primarily because he didn’t have the television presence Kennedy had. Ever since then, we’ve been electing leaders based on their television presence–more than we realize–and this has greatly distorted the election process.

    Like

Express yourself!

