If You Could Read My Mind…

Haven’t felt much like blogging lately. Frankly, so much has happened to aggravate my feelings of being “a stranger in a strange land” that I’ve simply had no faith that I could express myself in words anyone would understand. Which, I guess, is why my mind has been speaking to me in song again…

If I could read your mind, love, what a tale your thoughts could tell.
Just like a paperback novel, the kind the drugstores sell.
Then you reached the part where the heartaches come, the hero would be me.
But heroes often fail, and you won’t read that book again
Because the ending’s just too hard to take!

Gordon Lightfoot: “If You Could Read My Mind” Lyrics

If you could read my mind, love, what a tale my thoughts could tell.
Just like an old time movie, bout a ghost from a wishing well.
In a castle dark or a fortress strong, with chains upon my feet.
But stories always end.
And if you read between the lines, you’d know that I’m just tryin’ to understand
The feelin’s that you lack.
I never thought I could feel this way, and I’ve got to say that I just don’t get it.
I don’t know where we went wrong, but the feelin’s gone
And I just can’t get it back!

Gordon Lightfoot: “If You Could Read My Mind” Lyrics

I want ice water.

More from the Just Vibes volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

9 thoughts on “If You Could Read My Mind…

  1. Pingback: On Scarves, Squirrels, and the Fate of the Universe… | I Want Ice Water!

  2. So sorry you are feeling so down….wish I was there to give you a big hug! I have seen you come back before from that dark place….so keep as positive as you can. Maybe a stent of comedy channel would do you some good!….praying for some good thoughts and laughter to invade your soul tonight and that you wake tomorrow feeling better….take care . Wish we could get together over a cup of Joe and some gooey dessert this fall……think about it..? Be well my friend. Keep in touch.

    Like

    • Thanks Rosie, with the way I’m going, we might be having that cup of Joe and gooey dessert at the Chilli VA. I’m not looking forward to that, but seeing you again would be really nice. Incidentally, right now I’ve got the baseball game on one TV and The Daily Show on another. How’s that for looking for the positive? 🙂

      Like

  3. Not a mindreader but am positive that you will get back on track again. Your mind wants to be heard or maybe that’s the voices in yr head or mine talking. .. aaahhh the voices 🙂 🙂

    Like

Express yourself!

