Big Picture Reflections…

These thoughts were inspired in part by my friend Rosie’s Facebook shares…

Baby, although I chose this lonely life
It seems it’s strangling me now
All the wild men, big cigars, gigantic cars
They’re all laughing at me now

Oh I’ve been used
I’ve been taken for a fool, oh what a fool
I broke all the rules
But I won’t let the show go on!

Leo Sayer – “The Show Must Go On”

OneBoyUSO

Entitlements

Baby, look there’s an enormous crowd of people
And they’re all after my blood
I wish maybe they’d tear down the walls
Of this theatre and let me out, let me out

Leo Sayer – “The Show Must Go On”

Sometimes you read a sentence and you think to yourself: only here, only us. Here’s one such sentence.

“A 9-year-old girl from New Jersey accidentally shot and killed her instructor with an Uzi submachine gun while he stood to her left side, trying to guide her.”

Read more…

Oh I’ve been so blind
I’ve wasted time
Wasted, wasted, oh so much time
Walking on the wire, high wire

But I won’t let the show go on!

Leo Sayer – “The Show Must Go On”

Jeff Daniels as Anchor Will McAvoy on HBO's 'The Newsroom'

Jeff Daniels as Anchor Will McAvoy on HBO’s ‘The Newsroom’

… We’re seventh in literacy. Twenty-seventh in math. Twenty-second in science. Forty-ninth in life expectancy. A hundred and seventy-eighth in infant mortality. Third in median household income. Number four in labor force and number four in exports. We lead the world in only three categories: Number of incarcerated citizens per capita, number of adults who believe angels are real, and defense spending, where we spend more than the next twenty-six countries combined, twenty-five of whom are allies.

Now none of this is the fault of a twenty-year-old college student, but you nonetheless are without a doubt a member of the worst, period, generation, period, ever, period. So when you ask what makes us the greatest country in the world, I dunno what the fuck you’re talkin’ about. Yosemite? …

… First step in solving any problem is recognizing there is one. America is not the greatest country in the world anymore. Enough?

– Jeff Daniels as Anchor Will McAvoy on HBO’s The Newsroom

My intention was to include a video of that scene here, but every single copy had embedding disabled for it as I put this post together. However, for the moment at least, they’re still allowing them to be viewed on YouTube. You can watch my personal preference (the entire scene) here. Even if you’ve seen it before, I implore you to watch it again!

Baby, I wish you’d help me escape
And help me get away
Leave me outside my address
Far away from this masquerade

I’ve been so used I’ve been so abused
I’ve been a fool I broke all the rules
I’ve been so used oh and abused

But I won’t let the show go
I said I won’t let the show oh
Won’t let the show go on!

Leo Sayer – “The Show Must Go On”

I want ice water.

More from the Random Ravings volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “Big Picture Reflections…

    • Life’s a piece of shit, when you look at it
      Life’s a laugh and death’s a joke, it’s true
      You’ll see its all a show, keep ’em laughin as you go
      Just remember that the last laugh is on you

      Well said my friend! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Express yourself!

