Perception – Sticks and Stones…

Yesterday, I wrote about a TV show that excites and engages me like few other shows have. And, as it was with my first post about that show, almost no one responded. That’s okay. I’m not mad. I’m just a little crazy. And crazy people just can’t expect the rest of the world to see things in the way that they do. And it’s not as if my efforts had no positive results. In fact, Quinn Archer, the lady who did the beautiful song I included in that post, actually tweeted me her thanks, and ‘Favorited’ my post on both of her Twitter pages. I’ll get back to that a little later…

Last night I watched the 2nd episode from the 3rd season of another show that really excites and engages me – TNT’s Perception. I wrote about it a year ago as well (in a post that also went almost completely unnoticed) and its longevity has surprised me even more that of Continuum. And yet here I am, writing about it again. Hell, maybe you do have to be crazy to get it, but there’s apparently crazy enough to go around!

Perception Poster

Anyway, here’s a little of what I wrote in my previous post:

Is there anything sadder than a paranoid schizophrenic who’s madly in love with his hallucination? How about the guy who envies him for having imaginary friends he can actually converse with? Well, no offense to my real family and friends, but the fact is that the “best” friends I’ve ever had – the ones I’ve always related to best – were all fictional characters from books, TV shows, and movies. I’m not sure if I’ve ever stated that directly, but I can’t imagine anyone who’s taken time to think about it being all that surprised.

Anyway… From the enormous mob of “imaginary” friends living on in my head, there’s probably none I’d love to converse with more than the Dr. Daniel Pierce character from the TNT series Perceptiona man who just happens to be head over heels in love with his very best friend, who exists only in his brilliantly complicated imagination.

I was fortunate enough to catch a rerun of the season 1 ending “Light” episode last night, in which Dr. Pierce comes “face-to-face” with the “reality” of that particular delusion…

A Schizophrenic In Love…

For those of you who haven’t seen the show, here’s how Wikipedia describes it:

Dr. Daniel Pierce, a talented but eccentric neuropsychiatrist, is enlisted by the Federal Bureau of Investigation to assist in solving some of its most complex cases in Chicago. Dr. Pierce works closely with Special Agent Kate Moretti, a former student who recruited him to work with the FBI. Also on the team are Max Lewicki, Dr. Pierce’s teaching assistant and Natalie Vincent, a hallucination manifested as a result of his schizophrenia who also serves as his best friend.

Episodes typically begin with a scene of Pierce giving a lecture to his students about an aspect of the human brain; one that becomes significant within the plot of the episode. They also typically end with observations to students about the paradoxes of human perception.

While I love everything about the show, it’s those ‘lectures’ and ‘observations’ that I find the most fascinating. For once, TNT has actually posted Dr. Pierce’s ‘ending observations’ from Tuesday night’s “Painless” episode – something I really, REALLY hope they make a habit of doing…

And now, with those thoughts in mind, I want to give a special ‘thank you back’ to Quinn Archer…

Video via Quinn Archer on YouTube
(Her YouTube page includes links to her other sites as well)

As I said before, the heart wants what the heart wants, and I’m driven to write about what I love. Even if I make some mistakes before I learn to fly…

Perception

I want ice water.

More from the TV & Movie Classics volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Perception – Sticks and Stones…

  1. I saw maybe only 4 episodes in the 1st season but gave it up due to watching way too much so something has to go 😦 but maybe its time to start watching again…

    Like

  2. I love this show. I watch it regularly, albeit on my DVR as time permits. I just finished watching the latest episode. Thought it was good and then it jumped the shark a bit with the superheros and then it somehow pulled it right back to a pretty decent and believable ending again. I do think the best parts of the show are when Eric McCormack’s character teaches/he gives us so much information about the brain and how it works. I also love the engaging conversations with his hallucinations. Lewicki’s relationship with the doctor is fascinating and I would think they would play more with that aspect of the show – like when his brother came to visit (sad episode), but good nonetheless.

    I have some issues with the other characters on the show. I’m not sure I get their depth or their potential and most times I feel like they are forced friendships and not real ones. The reason why the show works is because you know Daniel Pierce is real and we’ve all, in some way or another, have experienced what he’s going through on a regular basis. On different levels, we’ve all been where he’s at and that’s why we connect to him. Personally, I think we all have characters we talk to in our heads to make decisions, when we’re contemplating the consequences of actions, hell, just when we’re sitting and watching the world go by — we all “talk” to ourselves a bit. Call it our conscience, our inner voice, instinct — doesn’t matter. We relate because we’ve all done that same kind of analysis that Dr. Pierce does — the potential for the show is enormous. But when it comes to mental illness, I think baby steps is in order. People are still frightened by what the mind does. And this show, does a good job of walking people through the understanding of it all.

    On a side note, I love Eric McCormack for so many reasons. I think he’s a pretty brilliant actor. And no matter what happens to this show — he will always be credited for doing amazing things by playing Will on Will and Grace. What a legacy! And now this show…. he seems to be a man on a mission: always breaking new ground with this craft. Gotta love it.

    Like

    • Excellent comment Carmen, and I very strongly agree on at least a couple of points. First, Eric McCormack is a brilliant actor. And second, the way the show walks us through the sometimes frightening way the mind works. I loved how, in one episode, Peirce described his hallucinations as his unconscious mind forcing him to recognize what his conscious mind can’t (or won’t) see. I think we all have a tendency to miss important details that our unconscious minds could help us discover, if we would only just listen to it! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!

