Laissez Le Bon Temps Rouler!

[The rain] descends with the enthusiasm of someone breaking bad news.

– H. V. Morton

Good grief. I really need to stop falling asleep with the news playing on my TV!

Nothing travels faster than light, with the possible exception of bad news, which follows its own rules.

– Douglas Adams

With continuing coverage of the potential invasion of the Ukraine by Russia, the ongoing search and recovery efforts after the horrible mudslide in Washington state, and, of course, the never-ending quest to find out what happened to Malaysia Airlines Flight 370, it’s no wonder I woke up in such a grumpy mood! 😡

Never awake me when you have good news to announce, because with good news nothing presses; but when you have bad news, arouse me immediately, for then there is not an instant to be lost.

– Napoleon Bonaparte

And it isn’t as if the bad news stopped when I woke up. After all, I had to check on what’s happening in my local area, right? Well, in addition to the usual crazy car wrecks and overnight murders, it seems that the mumps outbreak that’s been in the news here for a couple of weeks has now reached 87 cases and has spread beyond just my city! 😮

The news media are, for the most part, the bringers of bad news… and it’s not entirely the media’s fault, bad news gets higher ratings and sells more papers than good news.

– Peter McWilliams

And then, to top all that off, I checked my email only to see a fellow blogger reporting that some folks are attributing the disappearance of Flight 370 to, of all things, Cyber Hijacking! Damn, that’s even scarier than the “it was snatched from the sky by aliens” scenario!

The conflict between the men who make and the men who report the news is as old as time. News may be true, but it is not truth, and reporters and officials seldom see it the same way. In the old days, the reporters or couriers of bad news were often put to the gallows; now they are given the Pulitzer Prize, but the conflict goes on.

– James Reston

All of which reminds me of a line from Tuesday nights episode of NCIS, “Laissez le bon temps rouler. Let the good times roll.” After all, who exactly is it that would see all this bad news as something to celebrate? Why, the “Blues Media” of course! And, after seeing how they have no problem whatsoever delivering all that bad news with smiles on their faces…

Happiness Outbreak

I can easily imagine them singing this song at the after-party as well!

The good news is that Jesus is coming back. The bad news is that he’s really pissed off.

– Bob Hope

Nobody likes the bringer of bad news.

– Sophocles

Let the good times roll!!! O_o

I want ice water.

More from the WusAMatta U volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

16 thoughts on “Laissez Le Bon Temps Rouler!

  1. “Permettez commencer tous les bons moments” is about as close as you can get to “Let the good times roll”. That’s the second time in a month I’ve read a blogger writing it as you did. Makes me fall over laughing. You’re not seriously saying that a TV drama used it as an episode title ????

    Like

          • Watched it this afternoon. Have always liked Bakula, and the other characters look very promising too (although “King” Pride is an awful name and very distracting). For me the big draw with NCIS are the casts and their characters. I watch because I love them. The plots each week are relatively unimportant. (Incidentally, I’m surprised how quickly I got over Ziva’s departure.)

            Like

            • I was just watching a rerun with Ziva in it and the same thing occurred to me. I’m not sure it it’s because the Ellie Bishop character is working so well, or if it’s that the show is just so good overall that it can survive losses like that in stride. At any rate, I hope the new spinoff works out. I’m a Bakula fan too! 😀

              Like

Express yourself!

