Santana!

“President Kennedy once said of such creative genius that, “The highest duty of the writer, the composer, the artist is to remain true to himself and to let the chips fall where they may.” Now, that’s easy to say when — as they do for these artists — the chips usually fall in your favor, whether at Woodstock or the Oscars or elite venues all over the world.

But the fact is that the diverse group of extraordinary individuals we honor today haven’t just proven themselves to be the best of the best. Despite all their success, all their fame, they’ve remained true to themselves — and inspired the rest of us to do the same.”

Remarks by the President at 2013 Kennedy Center Honors Reception

You know, sometimes I envy the bloggers who’re able to pick a certain area of coverage and then stick to that area. I, on the other hand, have so many things I want to blog about that “I Want Ice Water!” is anything but a “focused” blog. The problem with having such an “unfocused” mind is that there are just so many topics that, despite their importance, I just never seem to get around to covering as well as I’d have liked to. An example of that is music. Yeah I know, you look at the long list of artists on my Music On This Blog page and it seems like I’ve done a pretty fair job of covering the music I like. But then something like the recent Kennedy Center Honors comes along and I’m reminded, once again, of just how short that list is in comparison to what it should be!

President Barack Obama Congratulates 2013 Kennedy Center Honoree Carlos Santana

President Barack Obama Congratulates 2013 Kennedy Center Honoree Carlos Santana

Not only is Carlos Santana the guy that convinced me, once and for all, that a well played electric guitar is the most incredible musical instrument ever devised by man, but, with help from other groups like Sly and the Family Stone, his band Santana also helped open my eyes to a whole world of music beyond the simple “black or white” choices that had been offered to me as a boy. I am so embarrassed that it’s taken me so long to post this song, from one of the first albums I ever bought with my own hard earned money

And I’m just as embarrassed to be just now getting around to posting his most award winning song to date

My thanks to the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts for reminding us of the incredible richness Carlos Santana has brought to our lives, and my heart-felt congratulations to the other 2013 Kennedy Center Honorees as well!

2013 Kennedy Center Honorees Carlos Santana, Shirley MacLaine, Billy Joel, Herbie Hancock and Martina Arroyo

2013 Kennedy Center Honorees Carlos Santana, Shirley MacLaine, Billy Joel, Herbie Hancock and Martina Arroyo

“The Latino thing has arrived. It has become the new black. And now Carlos is a citizen of the world. He belongs to all of us. Carlos, you haven’t transcended race and origin. Really, who of us has? You continue to be informed by the immigrant experience on the journey to the great American dream.”

– Previous Kennedy Center Honoree Harry Belafonte

I want ice water.

More from the My Heroes volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “Santana!

  1. Carlos Santana = my ‘most favorite’ guitarist of all time, and that’s saying A LOT!

    On a side note Mak – I named my blog the way I did because I wanted to leave the door open to write about anything at all. Anything which interest me. I had no intention of focusing on one subject, or even on one general area – things just have a way of evolving. I think the most important thing is to write about whatever we want to write, and you do a great job of doing that!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Alex. I hope you know that your blog is absolutely one of the “things I love” as well. I started my blog to have therapeutic place to explicitly vent my angst, and in many ways it’s still just that. I’ve just toned down the ranting and raving in favor of a more subtle approach using humor to say pretty much the same things. I do worry at times about whether the messages received are what I actually intended, but I do like knowing something was received a lot more than the crashing sounds of crickets chirping I got from all those long-winded rants! 😳

      Thanks again Alex. I hope you keep on posting the things we both love. Santana Rocks! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!

