For The Love Of Music

“Although the studies haven’t been performed yet, I’m willing to bet that when B.B. King is playing the blues and when he is feeling the blues, the neural signatures are very similar. … And as listeners, there is every reason to believe that some of our brain states will match those of the musicians we are listening to.”

Daniel J. Levitin, author of This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession

The Scientific Power of Music via AsapSCIENCE on YouTube

Images via You got the love I need and Estounishing-World on Tumblr

“Music may be the activity that prepared our pre-human ancestors for speech communication and for the very cognitive, representational flexibility necessary to become humans.”

Daniel J. Levitin, author of This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession

I want ice water.

More from the Visual Treats volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “For The Love Of Music

  1. I doubt anyone disputes the effect of music on the human brain. It’s one reason I so rarely listen to it anymore. Too many songs can snap me back into unhappy situations in an instant. Of course the opposite it also true, but I prefer not to take the chance.

    Like

    • You know, avoiding the things you love is one of the classic symptoms of depression PT. Before my diagnosis, I spent so much time either reading, listening to music, or both. These days my music and book collections just sit there, haunting me. I keep telling myself that I’m going to listen to this album or resume that series of books real soon. And they mean way too much to me to just get rid of them…

      Like

Express yourself!

