Echoes…

I’d just finished exchanging comments with Pied Type on her 50 years ago today, an American president was assassinated post, and was about to call it a night, when I came across these really nice images…

As I said to Pied Type, I was too young to really understand what was going on at the time, and my memories of that tragic day have somehow become linked to Don McLean’s “American Pie.” Well, I decided to do a little research and found that I’ve been wrong about the song…

And yet, somehow, I don’t think my subconscious will ever let it go of the association…

I want ice water.

More from the Random Ravings volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “Echoes…

  1. You connected the song to the Kennedy assassination, perhaps your first memory of those years. For me it was the entire decade. The ’60s were an unbelievable time. In every sense of the word, we really did think the music had died

    Like

    • You know, I considered that it might have been referring to the whole decade after our comment exchange last night, but I think it was those horrible images images of Jackie scrambling around in the car in combination with these lines from the song that fixed my mind on that day:

      I can’t remember if I cried, when I read about his widowed bride.
      Something touched me deep inside, the day the music died.

      Like

  2. Hi my friend, I was 9 on that day, and even though I live in England, I remember still the news bulletin as the news came in.. We only had black and white TV in those days and only 2 channels! But I remember the news reader having changed his tie which had patterns on in his previous news an hour before, and then a news flash come on with him changing his ties to ALL Black,,

    I even today live on a street named after the president as the houses were under construction at that time.
    But I remember it well…. There is a lot of controversy over the Kennedy’s I know, but like your video shows, He was human with a young family.. And we all as you say breathe the same Air…

    hope all is well..
    Sue xox

    Like

    • Thanks Sue. I was just 7 at the time and didn’t quite understand what was going on. I just remember how the whole world seemed to be crying…

      Peace and Love to you my friend! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!

