Phriday Phunnies – Russell Peters!

As I’ve said many times, I love comics who are good at using spoken accents in their comedy. In my opinion, his skill in that regard makes Russell Peters one of the funniest comics I’ve ever seen. After seeing on his performances on TV a while back, I just knew I had to post some of his stuff. I’m so glad he was on one of the morning talks shows yesterday to remind me!

Russell Peters’ stand-up performances are mostly made up of observational comedy where he uses humour to highlight racial, ethnic, class and cultural stereotypes. He often refers to his own life experiences growing up in an Indian family and impersonates various English accents of different groups in his act to poke fun at each group. As Peters told an audience in San Francisco, “I don’t make the stereotypes, I just see them.” Peters uses his minority status to allow him to poke fun at different races in his performance, but according to an interview done for The National, he does not intend to put down or offend different races and cultures, but instead tries to raise them up through humour.

Wikipedia

There’s no way I could post that last video without including this image from my friend Rincewind’s blog:

wpid-731a07c5b75609a8f84349863ac0302f1

Via The British and what they actually means on Erotixx

Russell Peters - I'm From England

The Official Russell Peters Website

I want ice water.

More from the WusAMatta U volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One thought on “Phriday Phunnies – Russell Peters!

  1. Pingback: How To Become Canadian | THE SCARECROW

Express yourself!

