Two For Tuesday…

I’ll learn to work the saxophone
I’ll play just what I feel
Drink Scotch whiskey all night long
And die behind the wheel

They got a name for the winners in the world
I want a name when I lose
They call Alabama the Crimson Tide
Call me Deacon Blues

You know, this blogging thing can be such a double-edged sword at times. Despite its therapeutic benefits, I must admit that the lack of response can be a bit ego deflating. Over time, the fact that the posts I’ve spent the most time and effort on seem to fall on the deafest ears has caused two thoughts to dominate my thinking every time I sit down to write:

Keep it simple, stupid.

Study long, study wrong.

The thing is that there’s no “therapeutic benefit” to be had from publishing a post that fails to express the complicated thoughts swirling around in my head. And that leaves me feeling, before I even begin, as if I’m playing at a game…

Steely Dan – Deacon Blues (with lyrics) via Michalis Limassol

With rules I’m not even equipped to understand…

Steely Dan — Rikki Don’t Lose That Number (with lyrics) via Michalis Limassol

You tell yourself you’re not my kind
But you don’t even know your mind
And you could have a change of heart

Rikki, don’t lose that number
You don’t wanna call nobody else
Send it off in a letter to yourself
Rikki, don’t lose that number
It’s the only one you own
You might use it if you feel better
When you get home

At any rate, the fall TV season has begun and my DVR is filling up fast. Keeping up with that, along with football and baseball too, might be just the distraction I need…

I want ice water.

More from the Just Vibes volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “Two For Tuesday…

  1. While I always enjoy getting responses, I’ve never really felt I was writing for others. I write for myself, to organize my thoughts, to play with the layout, etc. It’s just what I do. But responses are nice, I’ll admit.

    Like

  2. If people like you didn’t search, compile and post all of the interesting and important things like you do; I wouldn’t be able to see and learn. I DO appreciate you.

    Like

Express yourself!

