The Adjustment Bureau

A planet of playthings, we dance on the strings,
Of powers we cannot perceive

“The stars aren’t aligned,” or “The gods are malign”
Blame is better to give than receive

I finally got the chance to see The Adjustment Bureau last night and enjoyed every minute of it. As usual, the little blurb on the IMDb database does not do the movie justice:

“The affair between a politician and a ballerina is affected by mysterious forces keeping the lovers apart.”

But I suppose it was written to entice, just as the trailer was produced to tease:

The Wikipedia description of the film, which is loosely based on a short story by Philip K. Dick, is a lot more thorough. But for me, a die-hard individualist to the bitter end, the most poignant part of the story is contained in this one clip:

If you haven’t seen The Adjustment Bureau, I highly recommend it. It was very well done I think. As for the question it poses, well, that’s one I answered a very long time ago…

You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice

You can choose from phantom fears and kindness that can kill
I will choose a path that’s clear
I will choose Free Will

I want ice water.

More from the TV & Movie Classics volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 thoughts on “The Adjustment Bureau

  1. Pingback: Love Without Words | I Want Ice Water!

Express yourself!

