Can’t Take This Any Meow!

You get up every morning and you go to work each day
(you go to work, you go to work, you go to work)
Been doing the same damn job for ten long years this may
(you’ve got to work, you’ve got to work, you’ve got to work)
You’ve been working and saving for your Jamaican Dream
Paradise is waiting across the sea
But when your plane lands, Montego turns to Monsoon
You’ve got the Island Blues

‘Cause, nothing ever goes as planned – It’s a hell of a notion
Even Pharaohs turn to sand – Like a drop in the ocean
You’re so together, and you act so civilized
But every time that things go wrong, you’re still surprised
You’ve done your duty, you’ve paid a fortune in dues
Still got those Mother Nature’s Blues

Styx – Nothing Ever Goes As Planned

You may have noticed that I’ve kinda “fallen in love” with WordPress’ “Gallery Mosaic” feature. But let me tell ya my friends, it’s a “love/hate” relationship at best. I really like the way it groups an entire group of images into tidy little blocks. I even like how it automatically resizes images to fit. But the order it chooses to display them in, and the images it decides to resize, is a little “arbitrary” to say the least – and it can screw up BIG TIME when it comes to displaying animated GIFs!

Which is why, starting with Friday’s Pomegranate Crush? and then again with yesterday’s Say It Ain’t So NCIS! posts, I finally mustered up the courage to try the “DIV Table” technique I read about awhile back on Spontaneous Derivation.

Now I decided to post these images, originally, as a sort of “ripped from the headlines” attempt at humor. But I’ve taken the extra step of displaying them twice, just so you can see the difference…

First using default WordPress Mosaics:

And then using the “DIV Table” technique:

tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris
tetris

Images reblogged from “Baby Girl”, feelings, and Cremita pa la cara on Tumblr

I still have LOTS of experimenting to do before I can consider myself anything like an “expert” at this sort of thing. But I am working on it! For one thing, it would be nice if I could figure out how to make the code automatically resize them to fill the space better. I’ve done it before, with “The QuickFix” box in my sidebar, but I did so without really understanding how it worked.

Also, I haven’t a clue as to what to do when the images in a block vary in size. Note that the image heights in that last block varied by a few pixels. That “few pixels” variation caused them to display with extra space under them with the “DIV Table” technique, while, for reasons I’m unable to fathom, they displayed perfectly in the WordPress Mosaic!

I invite you to check out the HTML for Dummies, Part 3: Replacing Tables with Divs post on Spontaneous Derivation if you’re curious. Hell, if I’m lucky, one of you will help me improve my skills!

I strut around the stage like a Little King tonight
They’ll scream for every word, and every note, that’s right
But when the show is over, and I’m all alone
Can’t reach my baby on the telephone
And everywhere I look, Mr. Loneliness is in the news
I’ve got the Big Star Blues

Boy, nothing ever goes as planned – It’s a hell of a notion
Even Pharaohs turn to sand – Like a drop in the ocean
I’m so together, and I act so civilized
But every time that things go wrong, I’m still surprised
I’ve done my duty, I’ve paid a fortune in dues
Still got them Mother Nature’s Blues

Styx – Nothing Ever Goes As Planned

I want ice water.

More from the WusAMatta U volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “Can’t Take This Any Meow!

  1. Afraid I can’t help with this. Although I don’t use it very much, I love the WP mosaic, precisely because it does size the images randomly. Randomization is the whole point. Makes the display into a design. At least that’s how I’ve always thought of it.

    Like

    • True. And I love that “design” look too. But some GIFs apparently don’t resize well. And it’s particularly annoying when the original sizes allow for fitting them side by side without or, just minor, resizing – as it did with the last block. Note that every image in this post has the exact same 245px width! 🙄

      Like

Express yourself!

