Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

Well it’s not exactly what I had in mind when I wrote my And Speaking Of Changes… post, but, after reading timethief’s WordPress.com Theme Choice: Twenty Eleven post, and discovering that my blog is not only amongst the slowest loading blogs around, but looks absolutely horrendous when viewed on portable devices as well, a disturbingly familiar refrain began playing over and over in my head…

And, as is my habit when faced with situations like this…

I Went Into An All-Out, OBSESSIVE-COMPULSIVE PANIC!

So, once again, I went searching through the countless available themes for that one “perfect” theme, that would not only fit the crazy “scatter-shot” style of this blog, but deal with the disturbing revelations from timethief’s post as well. And guess what I found? The same thing I found back in November: There Is No Such Thing!

Anyway, almost three days of my mad scrambling around has resulted in the “it will do for now” compromise you now see before you. But, by switching to the “responsive width” Twenty Eleven theme, limiting the number of posts shown at one time on my home page, and dropping those cool but load-time hogging “flash” widgets from my sidebar, my blog not only loads faster now but can actually be read on all your portable gadgets as well!

In the end though, I’d be lying if I said this is really what I wanted. But as Darwin said:

“It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent, but the one most responsive to change.”

See timethief’s WordPress.com Theme Choice: Twenty Eleven post
if you want to find out how your blog measures up… Smiley

I want ice water.

17 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

  1. Your blog looks great in Twenty Eleven! I like the background and header combination very much. Now’s the time to reduce your page loading time by using the strategies I linked to for you. 🙂

    Like

    • Other than the “scripts” (???) you mentioned on your post, I don’t know what else to do TT. Doing posts where crazy images and stuff speak for me is about the only thing that keeps me blogging! 😀

      Like

  2. And of course THIS is where I intended my comment on blog roll links page! I repeat……Exxxxxxcellent blog, my fri…..oh hell, you probably already read the other one! 😉 Great stuff, indeed!

    Like

  3. I agree with Harry, this is a great change, IzaakMak — much cleaner! And let me just say Thank You on behalf of us bloggers out in the boonies with mind-bendingly sloooow internet. There had been days on end when I couldn’t even load your blog in its previous format! (And we have our local version of “high speed”, if you can believe it.) Much better now.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Mission Accomplished, Sort Of… | I Want Ice Water!

Express yourself!

