Monday Reflections

A place to stay
Enough to eat
Somewhere old heroes shuffle safely down the street

You can relax on both sides of the tracks
And maniacs don’t blow holes in bandsmen by remote control
And everyone has recourse to the law
And no-one kills the children anymore
No-one kills the children anymore

Pink Floyd – The Gunner’s Dream

I left so much out of my Sunday Reflections post that I thought a follow-up, to reduce that mental pile-up a little more, might do me some good. Of course, suspecting that your attention spans are probably just as limited as mine, I will endeavor to keep it short. Less satisfying for me? Perhaps. But posting something that people might actually read is SOOOOO much better than the alternative…

Nigga, I Ain't Readin All Dat Shit

At any rate, the main thing I feel was left out of yesterday’s post were my thoughts on what motivates people to attain that “unearned ‘special’ status” I talked about yesterday: FEAR. Having suffered (apparently) from a deepening depression my entire life, fear is something that I’m very familiar with, perhaps even more than most.

The thing is, my fear wasn’t some baseless, unnameable thing mysteriously haunting my life. My fear was (and still is) based entirely upon my perception of the fear driving the current behavior of those around me, and on what I imagined (and still imagine) those fears might lead them to do in the future.

Take the movie “Daybreakers” (IMDB, Wikipedia) for example. I know the scenario is a bit far-fetched, but who’ll deny that the fear of death is the biggest fear of them all? And considering the huge success the “Vampire” genre is having these days, is it really so unbelievable that people would welcome a viral pandemic that made them all immortal and, at long last, the ones the other humans feared? Hell, when you add all the corporate and governmental intrigue surrounding the acquisition and allocation of “vital resources” to the mix, “Daybreakers” then becomes what I think is a near-perfect metaphor for the real world we live in today:

Too hard to envision? Well let’s focus on a fear that everyone on the planet can relate to: Terrorism and the far-reaching impacts of the war being waged against it. Lets’ not forget that this country was founded out of a violent revolution against what was perceived to be an unjust and tyrannical government. And, as the big guns debate going on right now should make clear to everyone, those fears of an “overreaching government” have never really gone away. How else to explain the incredible popularity of the movie “V for Vendetta” (IMDB, Wikipedia), and the almost visceral satisfaction one gets from watching that movie’s final fight scene:

But one man’s freedom fighter is another man’s terrorist. And, as it has always been, the history books will be written by the winners. The “devil,” as they say, is in the details:

I apologize for this post not being as brief as I intended. Unfortunately, real life drama has imposed itself upon my writing, as the 2 Killed as 2 Bombs Explode at Boston Marathon news story played in the background as I wrote. So, rather than starting and finishing this post with humor the way I wanted to, I now feel compelled to bookend it with lyrics and music from the Pink Floyd song I decided not to include in yesterday’s post:

I find it so damned ironic that I left that song out yesterday for the sake of brevity, and was about to do the same thing today… 😕

I want ice water.

See more of my Major Rants

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 thoughts on “Monday Reflections

Express yourself!

