Tulips for Valentine’s Day?

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!

According to Valentines Day Statistics @ Statistic Brain, of the $13.19 Billion average annual Valentine’s Day spending, 34.3% of that money is spent on flowers. I suspect that, here in the U.S. at least, that money will mostly be spent on roses.

Now, being a man, I’m not exactly what you’d call a “flowers” kind of guy. But if I had to pick one as a favorite, I think I’d have to go with tulips.

pink-yellow-and-red-tulips

I’ve been fond of tulips since I was a kid, and they are one of the very few types of flower I’ve ever actually planted and maintained myself. But my “love” for tulips absolutely pales in comparison to the apparent love the Dutch have for this flower. It’s funny, we hear so much about “market bubbles” these days that we tend to take for granted that they’re a modern-day only phenomena, but did you know that one of the most famous “bubbles” in history was the Dutch Tulip Bulb Market Bubble of the early 1600s – when the rarest tulip bulbs traded for as much as six times the average person’s annual salary?!?! 😯

Anyway, the Dutch haven’t lost one little bit of their love for this beautiful flower. Just check out these amazing images I ran across over at the Amusing Planet blog:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Images via Aerial Photos of Tulip Fields in the Netherlands, by Normann Szkop

Check out the Amusing Planet post for more info on these wonderful images. 😀

I want ice water.

More from the Visual Treats volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

20 thoughts on “Tulips for Valentine’s Day?

  1. Those tulip fields are absolutely stunning! I heard only recently about the value of tulips in the 1600s — probably on one of those History Channel documentaries. I love them, along with daffodils, as one of harbingers of spring. Never tried to grow them unless maybe I once buried a bulb or two just to see what would happen. Since they don’t do well as cut flowers, I would probably choose something else to cultivate. I once nursed a couple of small rose bushes through one or two Oklahoma summers, but lost interest after that. I love flowers — if someone else grows them.

    Like

    • I hear ya on the someone else growing them thing PT. I planted tulips around the perimeter of my home once and they looked beautiful, until the local rugrats decided they couldn’t resist plucking them for fun. Nowadays about the only gardening I’d even consider is for growing stuff I can actually eat, and only then if I had a well protected area in which to do it! 😡

      I’ve seen the story of the big “Tulip Bulb Bubble” in a least a couple of History Channel documentaries myself, and those fields are indeed spectacular! 😀

      Like

  2. We grow them north of where I live too, and we usually migrate up there once a year for the tulip festival in La Conner. It’s usually during the month of April, and it’s a great place to take pictures, get some good food, and just wander around. None of our tulips are shipped to the EU – they have strict import-export laws to protect their markets.

    Like

  3. Wow, beautiful I love Tulips and Daffodils in spring and remember when my Grandmother and Granddad saved up to go to Holland just to see the Tulips, and still have a small broach they brought me back when I was 8 yrs old..
    I think I feel a song coming on, One which was popular in my younger days! LoL Enjoy

    Like

  4. I guess tulips around valentines day is a promice of the spring to come…I love them, and have clumps of them across the fromt of my house. although sometimes the deer come and eat them off before they bloom…I must remember to spray them with liquid fence every year when the pop up…which by the way is funny.. I just saw a couple peeping thru the ground just this morning when I was taking my morning stroll around my house looking at the birds and squirls, while drinking my morning coffee . It a daily ritual, even in the winter to spend enough fime to smoke my morning cig, and enjoy my morning coffee on my front porch….I have a small down filled coverlett to help keep the chill off while setting in my rattan chair. Thanks for the beauiful photos…and thanks to Sue DreamWalke for the beautiful song….I had never heard it before!

    Like

    • I’m jealous Rosie. I’d love to have a place to grow flowers and such, and a porch to view it all from while sipping my coffee! Sue always has such good stuff in her comments. I’m so thankful for great friends like her – and you! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!

