Who Are You Now?

“Don’t start me to lyin!”

That was one of my mom’s many colorful colloquialisms, which she used when asked a question she didn’t really have an answer to, but nevertheless invited all sorts of rampant speculation. As a child, hearing such things from her always made me wonder just what kind of world my mother had come from. After my last post, which no doubt inspired many questions on your part, I’m afraid that her answer is about the best I can give you. If only she were here to help me fill in the rest…

But there is one living person who I suspect understands all too well what I’ve been going through. And while this post is for all my friends, it is most especially intended for My Friend Bats:

“‘Sometimes the hardest part isn’t letting go but rather learning to start over.’ ~ Nicole Sobon.”

~ Criminal Minds Closing Quote
“Magnum Opus” Episode

I want ice water.

More from the Just Vibes volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 thoughts on “Who Are You Now?

  1. You can’t start over from the beginning, but you can start again. Take from the past what has been helpful, leave behind what has not, and move forward. One minute at a time, one step at a time, one day at a time.

    Like

  2. Starting over is probably one of the hardest things in life. You feel defeated, unbelievably tired, in a way it’s a small rock bottom.
    Remember people out here care for you even when you don’t care about you anymore.
    My thoughts are with you my friend.

    Like

  3. Starting over scares the hell out of me. because i have to change to do it…then I find the changes are the best thing about it…I have no idea what you are going through Izaak…but my thoughts are with you.

    Like

  4. Beautiful and poignant clip, Mak. It is most pertinent, I would say, to those junctures we all have in common, graduation, marriage, moving to a new address, birth of a child, changing jobs, illness, accident, and obviously, death. Reminds me of the trite but true saying, “Life is what happens while you’re making plans.” My own incomplete conclusion is, don’t forget to enjoy a moment when you can because in hindsight, such moments are “who we are”.

    Like

Express yourself!

