Who’s The Scariest Of Them All?

Mirror, mirror on the wall
The face you’ve shown me scares me so
I thought that I could call your bluff
But now the lines are clear enough

Life’s not pretty even though
I’ve tried so hard to make it so
Mornings are such cold distress
How did I ever get into this mess? …

… Mirror, mirror I confess
I can’t escape this emptiness
No more reason to pretend
Here comes that same old feeling again! …

Styx – “Snowblind” (Video) (Lyrics)

Now you all know about my TV addiction, and that I have a special fascination for crime dramas involving a really scary bad guy that keeps coming back for more. And for the longest time (in TV years of course), I was convinced that the crown for “Scariest TV Villain” would forever belong to The Reaper from Criminal Minds.

However, after his 3 previous appearances on Bones, I had started leaning towards shifting that crown onto the head of super-genius-psycho-killer Christopher Pelant. And his 4th appearance in last night’s “The Corpse on the Canopy” episode all but confirmed it:

Well that settles it, right? Wrong! What I hadn’t anticipated was the blitz attack of TV’s latest super-monster(s), Joe Carroll and Friends, from Fox’s brand new psychological thriller, The Following:

BTW, clicking on that “INTENSE RATED Trailer” link in the video will take you to the 21 minute long extended clip that’s running right now on The Following homepage.

And how better to conclude such a gut-wrenching drama than by pushing a very familiar, sweet-but-kinky song over the edge into that nightmare we feared might be there all along? This is what was playing at the episode’s end:

DAYUM!!!! 14 straight weeks of that? Mr. Pelant had better return for his revenge on Agent Booth soon if he wants to even remain in the hunt!

I want ice water.

More TV & Movie Classics

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

28 thoughts on “Who’s The Scariest Of Them All?

  1. I watched the show and OMG, I want more than just ice water! I love Kevin Bacon and this was extremely well done, but it may be too far into the realm of horror for me to stick with it.

    Aren’t they being awfully optimistic to shoot 14 episodes to start with? Or do you think they had to agree to that to get Bacon on board?

    Like

    • Yeah, definitely none of the chuckles you find in episodes of Bones. I wondered about that 14 episode schedule too, and it occurred to me that it might be a single season deal like they did with 24. 😀

      Like

  2. I would love to watch these shows, but I work at nght. I’m really out of touch already. Youknow Walking Dead ? It’s been on for over a year when I heard about it. So I just bough the dvd of Season One.

    Like

  3. Hi IzaakMak, just dripping by, and wouldnt you know It I Won’t be pressing the play button on these LOL.. But The Mirror on my wall is looking back at me and saying well girl you arnt so bad if your blink quick.. so… Hope you are faring well my friend and I see you are keeping the YouTube in business …. Great to see you blogging away.. and sorry Ive not called around sooner ( again ) .. but you know I still like to keep my Eye on you now and again..
    Take Care of You and Dont scare yourself too much!

    Like

  4. AAARRRGGGHHH!!! Even without watching the video that song is really a creepfest when he does it!!
    I’ve been out of the TV loop for too long – I think I couldn’t take all the politico ads, so I watched Investigation Discovery 24/7!
    Lately I’ve been catching up on Bones reruns and Castle too both on TNT. And I plan to ease back in with the USA prime timers. As much as I like suspense, sometimes I just can’t stand any more gore, so I have some catchin’ up to do with Criminal Minds too.
    I guess Kira and Kevin trade off the front of the camera and behind it gigs. It’s his turn now for a while. I’ve always liked him and he does suspense pretty well!!
    Good to see your TV tastes are still honed to a tee, dude!
    Good to see you again, Izaak! Hope winter is keeping its cold hands off you!!! The errands are becoming more urgent, as I took another frigid day today and stayed in!!
    stay warm!

    🙂
    janet

    Like

    • Isn’t Manson’s version just TOO weird?!?! I’m definitely NOT a fan, but it was the perfect capper for that show. I’d never be able to keep up with my favorites were it not for my DVRs. Hell, without them, the political ads alone would’ve caused me to embed one of my shoes in the screen! 😯

      BTW, I had no idea the Kyra and Kevin were married. What would I do without you guys to keep me in touch? It’s been really cold for the past 2 days, and it’s warming up just enough for snow to fall today! 🙄

      Like

  5. I use to love the Profiler. I think it laid the foundations for all of these shows like Criminal Minds and Dexter. The resident serial killer in that , Jack of All Trades, scared the beejeesus out of me.

    Like

  6. Pingback: The Season Finales of Bones and The Following | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!

