Waltz Across Texas

Have you ever noticed the “All-Time Champs” widget in my sidebar? Unlike the automatically generated “Hot Off My Fingers” and “Reigning Rants” widgets, the “All-Time Champs” widget is one I created myself and must update from time to time as my blog stats change. Although this is the 1,053rd post I’ve published to this blog, I’ve chosen to limit that widget to just the Top 5 to keep the update frequency with which I’d have to update it.

But I’ll let you in on a not-so-hidden secret that’s somewhat obscured by that arbitrary cutoff point: While I put OCD level effort into every post I publish, the fact is that 2 of those Top 5 posts wouldn’t even exist were it not for the emails forwarded to me by good friend Rosie. In fact, Rosie’s emails were the source for 5 of my Top 10, and 17 of my Top 25 posts. Hell, almost all of my E-Mail Funnies posts were created from her emails, and many from other volumes were as well!

Now I’ve known for awhile that Rosie had her own blog, but I’d assumed that she’d created it simply to make commenting here easier. After all, though I signed up for them, I’ve never received a new post notification from her blog. So imagine how strange I felt when she said she was sending this one to me because she didn’t know how to post it herself…

Waltz Across Texas

Wyman, the photographer, used to live in the old jail in Benjamin, TX. The photo of the coiled rattlesnake appeared on the cover of a wildlife magazine in the 80’s. He said, there were times he crawled a long way on his belly to get a good shot of a wild animal.

The music is by Doug Smith. Doug is from Petersburg, Texas and lives south of town. Doug plays by ear – He cannot read music, but has many CDs. A pickup accident left Doug paralyzed and he does not play anymore.

Most of the pictures were taken in the rolling plains (cap rock to Seymour, the Fork, 6666, and Waggoner Ranches. There are some scenes in Palo Duro Canyon.

Please take a moment and view….I don’t know if I’ve ever come across such a skillful combination of music and amazing animal and landscape photography. The changes in the tempo perfectly compliment the scenery. It is simply a beautiful portrayal of West Texas!

Via West Texas by Wyman Meinzer on Vimeo
and my wonderful friend Rosie

As much as I’d hate to lose such a valuable resource for my posts, I’ve got to find a way to help my friend develop her blog. But only a masochist would want an OCD level “never good enough ultra-tweaker” like me for a teacher!!!!

I want ice water.

More from the Visual Treats volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “Waltz Across Texas

  1. Beautiful. So west Texas, but much like western Oklahoma too. There’s a lot of that kind of land out there. I’m not used to seeing the much wildlife, though. The photographer had to look for them.

    Like

  2. Wow.I was so surprized to see this in my e-mail. I had to go to it right away!!! So glad you posted it for me..I am sure there is a tutorial somewhere for people like me..LOL.. Keep up the good work. My son and grandson and parents are taking up most of my time these days ..so not sure I would even have time to blog…but I appreciate reading yours ( when I can).. Keep up the good work ..you are a special friend!!

    Like

  3. Hey…..I even found out if I clicked on my name ( in your post) …..I can get to my blog site….. was not sure even how to get there…..I am pathetic…I know……LOL…what fun! learn something new everyday!

    Like

    • Yeah, I had to search back through your comments to find the URL for that link. Not sure why your name no longer links to your blog in these comments, but hey, we can figure it out together if and when you want! 😀

      Like

Express yourself!

