Is My PC Killing Me?

It appears that my big I’m BAAAAACK! announcement was a bit premature, as I found myself in agony once again not long after I posted it. And, as much as I hate to admit it, I’m almost certain now that it was the time and effort I spent putting that post together that caused my back and hip pain to flare up again.

The funny thing is that I’ve been blaming my PC for the pain for months, but only as a transparent joke on myself for not taking the frequent breaks I know my body needed. After all, I reasoned, I’ve spent literally decades in front of a PC, sometimes for 8, 10, or even 12 hour stretches, with nothing more than temporary aches and stiffness to show for it. But there is actual evidence that doing it the wrong way over such a long period of time can have some pretty dramatic cumulative effects, as shown in this infographic from WhoIsHostingThis.com Reviews:

[Click Image To Enlarge]

Is Your Computer Killing You? An infographic by WhoIsHostingThis.com Reviews

Infographic via Is Your Computer Killing You?

My thanks to The Windows Club, What’s On My PC, and Paul’s Internet Security Blog for bringing this to my attention. Unfortunately, though I plan to investigate further, there isn’t much I can afford to do about it beyond limiting the time I spend in front of my PC and trying to maintain better posture when I am here… :|

I want ice water.

See more from the My Life volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

9 thoughts on “Is My PC Killing Me?

  1. Been there, done that. And still doing it! Great, informative graphic. It sent me looking for and installing f.lux. Maybe it will keep me from staying up till 2 am playing Civilization like I did last night.

  2. Pingback: I Couldn’t HAAANDLE The Truth… | I Want Ice Water

  3. Pingback: The Evidence Is Piling Up… | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!

