Ever Wonder? – A History Lesson

This is another of those hilarious “E-Mail Funnies” that my friend Rosie sends me from time to time: 😉

Have you ever wondered who first uttered the phrase:

“You Gotta Be Shittin Me!”

Well, it just so happens to have originated through the Father of Our Country, way back when George Washington was crossing the Delaware river with his troops.

There were 33 (remember this number) in Washington’s boat. It was extremely dark and storming furiously and the water was tossing them about.

Finally,Washington grabbed Corporal Peters (remember this name) and stationed him at the front of the boat with a lantern. He ordered him to keep swinging it, so they could see where they were heading.

Corporal Peters, through driving rain and cold, continued swinging the lantern back and forth, back and forth.

Then a big gust of wind and a wave hit and threw Corporal Peters and his lantern into the Delaware. Washington and his troops searched for nearly an hour trying to find Corporal Peters, but to no avail. All of them felt terrible, for the Corporal had been one of their favorites.

Sometime later, Washington and his troops landed on the other side, wet and totally exhausted. He rallied the troops and told them that they must go on.

Another hour later, one of his men said, “General, I see lights ahead.” They trudged toward the lights and came upon a huge house.

What they didn’t know was that this was a house of ill repute, hidden in the forest to serve all who came.

General Washington pounded on the door, his men crowding around him.

The door swung open, and much to his surprise stood a beautiful woman.

A huge smile came across her face, to see so many men standing there.

Washington was the first to speak, “Madam, I am General George Washington and these are my men. We are tired, wet, exhausted, and desperately need warmth and comfort.”

Again, the Madam looked at all the men standing there, and with a broad smile on her face, said, “Well, General, you have come to the right place. We can surely give you warmth and comfort. How many men do you have?”

Washington replied, “Well, Madam, there are 32 of us without Peters.”

And that’s when the Madam made history by exclaiming,

“You gotta be shittin me!”


Now you all know what a fanatic I am when it comes to learning as much as I can about everything there is. Hell, if I had my way, every kid everywhere would be required to do weekly reports on what they’ve learned on their own that week, just to encourage them to use the awesome technology they waste so much time staring at and/or playing on to actually improve themselves – and their lives – instead.

But I must confess that I tend to focus more on science and philosophy, and less on history and civics. With that in mind, I’d like to take this opportunity to encourage everyone to take the time to watch an episode or two of the very funny, yet highly informative, How The States Got Their Shapes on H2 (formerly History Channel International). I’ve watched it off and on since it premiered, and every viewing has left me better educated about American History and the politics that drove it than I was before.

With so many “class distinction” issues being involved in the upcoming elections, recording the Red State vs. Blue State and White Collar vs. Blue Collar episodes just seemed like a good idea. Well, I just watched both of them back to back and thoroughly enjoyed every minute!

And guess what my friends? You can watch both episodes yourself at the links I just provided! 😀

I want ice water.

More from the E-Mail Funnies volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

13 thoughts on “Ever Wonder? – A History Lesson

  1. Funny story!

    As for “How the States Got Their Shapes,” it’s wonderful, isn’t it. If history had been that interesting when I was in school, my major and my entire life might have been different. It’s a fascinating series and it seems like everything in it is stuff I never knew before. (That’s either a commentary on my teachers or on my memory; I’m not sure which.)

    Like

    • Thanks PT. “How the States Got Their Shapes” really is a wonderful show. Those stiffs that called themselves “educators” when I was a kid could learn a lot from it! 😀

      Like

    • Thanks Androgoth. My day is going as well as can be expected I guess. You know, your posing that phrase as a question reminds me of the fits I had with deciding the best way to present it in the post! 😀

      Like

  2. “How the States…” is a great show! I really like that it includes the literal as to the physical shape (water rights, gold, etc.) as well as the figurative in how the societies are shaped within each state (politics, sports, barbecue).

    Your idea on having schoolkids write essays on what they learned on their own is excellent. That has the potential to really open kids’ minds right up.

    Like

    • Thanks Luddy. I like “How the States Got Their Shapes” for all the things you listed, not to mention that Brian Unger is a fellow Ohioan! 😀

      You know, my friends used to tell me I should go into teaching, but a classroom just didn’t seem the right fit for the worst truant in history! 😀

      Like

  3. Pingback: Fractal Friday Follows Fractal Freaks – news at 11… « BuddhaKat

Express yourself!

