Playing The Race Card

Sly and The Family Stone – Don´t Call Me Nigger, Whitey

Don’t call me nigger, whitey
Don’t call me whitey, nigger

Don’t call me nigger, whitey
Don’t call me whitey, nigger

Well I was down, across the country
And I heard two voices ring
They were talkin’ funky to each other
And neither one could change a thing

Don’t call me nigger, whitey
Don’t call me whitey, nigger…

Looking the way I do while living in predominantly Black communities, growing up in the middle of the Civil Rights Movement was tough for me. While I was just as full of anger and resentment as the next kid, it was not as easy for me to use the issues of the time to vent that anger and rage as it was for my friends. After having seen myself in the mirror every day of my young life, I could never find it in me to call anyone “Whitey.” And since I was sure that at least a few had doubts about my allegiances, using the word “Nigger” seemed like a sure invitation to getting my ass kicked.

Somehow, even though I believed it to be true, telling them that people will all look like me in the future just didn’t give me the satisfaction I craved. But times change. People are looking more like me everyday. And as this clip from The Daily Show illustrates, playing the race card ain’t all it’s cracked up to be anyway:

Playing The Race Card

Larry Wilmore performs magic tricks to show
white people how to play the race card.

I want ice water.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

2 thoughts on “Playing The Race Card

Express yourself!

