Salvation Mountain

Despite my own lack of faith, I have no problem at all relating to the wonderful art of Leonard Knight, nor to the life he lived while producing it…

From 1984 until his death in 2014, Leonard Knight lived in a truck with no electricity or running water to manifest the message that lived in his heart as a monument for all to see. With hope and optimism, he allows his masterpiece to speak for itself, revealing the powerful message that love is the most important part of life. Never revealing the backstory of what made him stay in Niland working on this piece for so long, humble Knight seems to believe that the message he shares is far more valuable than how he arrived at it.

- Paul Caridad – Visual News

Salvation Mountain is known around the world as a burst of color in the desert outside Niland, California, on the Mexican border. A one-man monument built over three decades piece by piece; it is a gradual accruement of hope, love and joy in physical form.

Less is known about the man who built it, Leonard Knight, mostly because that’s the way he liked it. An unassuming man, he preferred to let his mountain speak for itself. It did just that, in bright, bold colors and optimistic messages.

After visiting the mountain multiple times, filmmakers Ben Stoddard and Dave Ehrenreich spent an intimate extended stay with Leonard at Salvation Mountain. Rather than add to the already vast lexicon on the mountain as an object, they chose to focus their attention on the man who built it. Through interviews with Leonard and his inner circle of friends that cared for him in his fading years, they hoped to learn about and showcase the enigmatic artist himself.

To learn more about the preservation of Salvation Mountain please visit – salvationmountain.org

- Don’t Sleep Productions on Vimeo

And, were I to undertake something like that myself, I know the exact song I’d be humming while I worked!

I’m a wheel, I’m a wheel
I can roll, I can feel
And you can’t stop me turning

Cause I’m the sun, I’m the sun
I can move, I can run
But you’ll never stop me burning

Come down with fire
Lift my spirit higher
Someone’s screaming my name
Come and make me holy again

I’m the man on the silver mountain!

- Rainbow – “Man On The Silver Mountain”

I want ice water.

More from the Visual Treats volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Salvation Mountain

Express yourself!

