What Would A Patriot Do?

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.–That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, …

- The Declaration of Independence

With her Patriotism is more than a lapel pin (video) post, fellow blogger Pied Type inspired a lively discussion about the meaning of, and the abuses inspired by, this thing we call patriotism. Frankly, I wish I’d been able to contribute more to the conversation. But the truth is that my feelings on the subject are a bit “nebulous” to say the least, and even that quote from the Declaration of Independence – which used to seem so definitive to me – now just seems to inspire more questions than it provides answers. I do, however, encourage all my readers to go take a look at Pied Type’s post.

Adding to my own confusion on the matter was the following video posted on The “Great” One’s Blog the day before Pied Type published her post, and seeing it posted again this morning on the Always Question Authority blog is what inspired me to do a post of my own…

Now anyone who knows me knows what a non-violent person I am, but if there’s one thing that will inspire my rage, it’s an attempt to deny my right to “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” Those who know me will also know that I have always thought the greatest threat to my right to “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness” are the people who allow their words and actions to be guided, thoughtlessly, by irrational and anti-human religious beliefs that, IMHO, represent the absolute antithesis of those principles!

For the most part, my anger has been assuaged by the fact that I live in a country where I can freely speak out against this madness – a freedom that has been defended by not only our military but by a vigorous free press as well. That video points to the outright abdication of the responsibility of that free press, not just in Britain, but here where I live as well. I don’t know what other patriots think of it, but this one is reminded of another “controversial” work with a very similar title: Jeffrey Snyder’s A Nation of Cowards.

For those who think that dealing this issue is beyond our grasp, I’ll simply remind you of what a great man once said about another seemingly impossible task…

JFK Moon Quote

To me, this is just one of those “other things” we need to do…

The sacred rights of mankind are not to be rummaged for, among old parchments, or musty records. They are written, as with a sun beam in the whole volume of human nature, by the hand of the divinity itself; and can never be erased or obscured by mortal power.

- Alexander Hamilton

I want ice water.

More from the Random Ravings volume

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 thoughts on “What Would A Patriot Do?

  1. Indeed it’s a topic that could be discussed indefinitely. As for the press abdicating its responsibility to be the public’s watchdog … don’t get me started. To a very great extent, the press has become a bunch of puppets manipulated by a few corporate puppet masters.

    • So true PT. The duty to keep the public informed is being inexorably usurped by the desire to create more “sheeple” to be milked, sheered and slaughtered for profit…

Express yourself!

