An NCAA Four By Four!

I’m a bit groggy from the experience, but I do believe I’ve watched at least part of all fifty two games played so far in the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Championships that began last Tuesday night. Crazy huh? Well my friends, that’s why it’s called “March Madness!” And the cool thing is that, of the remaining “Sweet 16” teams, seven of them are from my region and FOUR are from my home state of Ohio!

Oh yeah, that’s right (feel free to sing along). Of the six Big Ten teams that earned their way into the tournament, four are still alive – including my hometown Ohio State Buckeyes. And the Buckeyes will be joined by three other Ohio teams, establishing a new NCAA record with four “Sweet 16” teams from a single state!

I wanted soooo badly to include a short clip of John Travolta’s “Ain’t It Cool?” line from Broken Arrow, but I just couldn’t find one. However, as an alternative, this one ain’t bad:

And this clip from a fellow fan, with music by the Ohio Players, really sums up that old in-state pride:

So congratulations and good luck to all seven of these great teams:

The Michigan State Spartans

The Indiana Hoosiers

The Wisconsin Badgers

The Cincinnati Bearcats

The Xavier Musketeers

The Ohio Bobcats

and, of course

The Ohio State Buckeyes!

Ice Water For Everyone!

More Random Ravings

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

14 thoughts on “An NCAA Four By Four!

  1. almost 52 games in one week. WOW! Your eyes must be round as balls and just as wide as the basketball. But I guess if one has to indulge why not do it proper… Good luck to your team.

    Like

    • You know, I had to do the math several times – 4 on Tuesday & Wednesday + 32 on Thursday & Friday + 16 on Saturday & Sunday – just to be sure I had it right. Anyway, I really wish I could hope for Ohio State to be the big winner, but Michigan State will probably go the farthest from the bunch I listed. And I don’t think even they have a chance against Kentucky, who I’m picking to win it all! 😀

      Like

  2. Talk about some MAJOR upsets this year! Holy cow! Two #2 seeded teams gonzo! And I thought Purdue was going to beat KS last night, and lost in the last minute. AAARRGGHHH!!!

    What a tournament. As always, chock full of surprises.

    Like

  3. I don’t have sufficient ego to check my post stats every day, although, as the numbers go up, so does my personal satisfaction. Thanx for signing up to follow my blog. I hope that I can continue to amuse and amaze you. Your site looks like it can do the same for me. As Arnie says, I’ll be back. And now off to investigate the Friendly Atheist listed on your blogroll.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 03/20/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  5. O-H….

    My neighbor has 1 son at Oh State and 1 at UC- I don’t know who they will root for on Thursday!
    I am torn- we love the Bucks, but live in Cincy- what’s a girl to do???

    Like

    • Of COURSE you do! We fly the OH State flag on our front porch, but Husband thinks we need to root for our hometown team on Thursday.

      I DID spend alot of time on the UC campus in my younger years, yet I did not go to school there ;o)

      Like

      • Oh God, “team” sports can be so divisive for a family. I rooted for the Celtics when everyone else rooted for the Lakers. I rooted for the Cavaliers when everyone else rooted for the Bulls. I rooted for Buster Douglas when everyone else rooted for Mike Tyson. I still remember how sick I felt to discover tears in my son’s eyes while I was cheering Tyson’s going down!

        Funny, I was actually afraid to go to the OSU area for a while after I moved here as a kid, after seeing how crazy that area got after a big win. I might have understood if they’d acted up after a loss, but after a win?!?!? 😯

        Like

  6. Pingback: A Dropped Ball WILL Bounce Back Up | I Want Ice Water

Express yourself!